SWWC ELC Testing Information

  • SWWC District Assessment Coordinator, Jason Northrup, jason.northrup@swwc.org

    Minnesota's assessment system includes standards-based accountability assessments, English language proficiency assessments, and the assessments used to meet graduation assessment requirements. 
    Test results for MCA/MTAS and ACCESS for ELLs are received in August and given to students and families during the first two weeks of school.

    Standards-Based Accountability Assessments
    The Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs) and alternate assessment Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS) are the state tests that help districts measure student progress toward Minnesota’s academic standards and also meet federal and state legislative requirements. Students take one test in each subject. Most students take the MCA, but students who receive special education services and meet eligibility requirements may take the alternate assessment MTAS instead. The list below shows tests by subject and the grades they are given:
    • Reading: MCA or MTAS (grades 3-8, 10)
    • Mathematics: MCA or MTAS (grades 3-8, 11)
    • Science: MCA or MTAS (grades 5, 8, and once in high school)
    SWWC ELC & ALC 20-21 MCA and MTAS Testing Windows
    ELC - Belview: March 15 - 26
    ELC - Cosmos: March 8 - 19
    ELC - Montevideo: March 8 - 19
    ELC - Pipestone: March 15 - 26
    ELC - Willmar: March 15 - 26
    ELC - Windom: March 8 - 19
    ALC - Windom: March 15 - 26

    Career and College Readiness
    Districts have a number of requirements to fulfill for students’ career and college planning for students first enrolled in grade eight in 2012-13 and later. This includes offering students in grades 11 and 12 an opportunity to participate in a nationally recognized college entrance exam (ACT or SAT) on a school day.
    SWWC ELC 20-21 ACT Test Date: March 30 (make-up day April 13)

    English Language Proficiency Accountability Assessments
    The ACCESS and Alternate ACCESS for ELLs are the assessments developed by the WIDA consortium and administered to English learners in order to measure progress toward meeting Minnesota’s standards for English language development, developed by the WIDA consortium. Most English learners will take the ACCESS for ELLs, but English learners who received special education services and meet the participation guidelines may take the Alternate ACCESS for ELLs. 
    SWWC ELC ACCESS and Alternate ACCESS for ELLs Testing Windows
    ELC – Belview: 
    ELC – Cosmos:
    ELC – Montevideo: 
    ELC – Pipestone: 
    ELC – Willmar:
    ELC – Windom: 

    Student Participation in Statewide Assessments
    Minnesota Statutes, section 120B.31, subdivision 4a, requires the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) to publish a form for parents/guardians to complete if they refuse to have their student participate in state-required standardized assessments. It includes some basic information to help parents/guardians make informed decisions that benefit their child and their school and community. The form to meet this legislative requirement is available at the link below. When completed, it must be returned to your student's district; your student’s district may require additional information.